General freelance editing question on networking.

LOG

Lagrangian
Registered
Reaction score
So I'm thinking of trying out freelance editing, and a freelance editor I know IRL suggested that a good place to look for work is in places like Professionals Editor Network or the Editorial Freelancers Association.

I have had some experience editing--I've copyedited a collection of stories as part of a group which will be published later this year using CMS, and I've also edited a few Bus Manuals according to a company's internal style guide. I'm also familiar with MLA and AP.
Looking at some other threads around here I know that's not a guarantee of any sort, but would any other editors here agree that those sort of networking sites are a good place to try and look for work?

IceCreamEmpress

Hapless Virago
Registered
Reaction score
The EFA job list is only open to members of the organization, and I think the same is true about the job listings of the Minnesota-based Professional Editors Network and other similar locality-based editors' organizations.

Since you're starting out in freelance editing, I would suggest that sites like ELance.com might be an easier start, and wouldn't require an investment in membership fees.

Say more about the bus manual thing: was this technical writing about the actual vehicles, or was it more of a logistics document?

kimberlycreates

insert witty title here
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.kimberlycreates.com
I'm not a fan of Elance or other sites like this. I'm listed there, but most of the time the bid goes to whoever is offering the cheapest rates. Great way to cut your teeth in the business if you're willing to work for low rates -- not a great way to earn a living full-time.