PDA

View Full Version : 1st person YA Dystopian novels?


Enigami
11-02-2011, 01:17 AM
Hey! I was wondering if you guys could give me a list of YA dystopian novels that are in 1st person POV. I need something to read that relates to my NaNo so I can get a vibe on how others do it. I already know about Hunger Games, but anything else you can name would be awesome!

OpheliaRevived
11-02-2011, 02:06 AM
Matched - first present. Loved it.

strawberryblondie
11-02-2011, 02:09 AM
Delirium is in first.

Becca C.
11-02-2011, 02:11 AM
Matched is excellent. The sequel, Crossed, came out today!

LeafintheBreeze
11-02-2011, 02:19 AM
Matched by Ally Condie
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi -- it doesnít come out until later this month, but you can read the 1st chapter on the FB page.

These all seem to have a big focus on romance, though, so I donít know if thatís also what youíre looking for. Other than that, I canít think of anything else. But I have a feeling Iím missing a lot...

oh! hereís another: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Anyway, hope I helped.

KateSmash
11-02-2011, 02:42 AM
Feed - MT Anderson (which, really, is a must read)

Depending on how you look at it, Across the Universe by Beth Revis skews dystopian. So does Enclave by Ann Aquire, though I'd say it's far more post-apocalyptic than straight up dystopian.

MysteryScribe
11-04-2011, 09:46 PM
Wither - by Lauren DeStefano
Awaken - by Katie Kacvinsky

are two more worth reading/checking out.

SBibb
11-05-2011, 12:01 AM
Forest of Hands And Teeth.

The others ones I like have already been mentioned. :-)

Cyia
11-05-2011, 01:09 AM
I can't think of a YA dystopian that I've read that HASN'T been in 1st.

TudorRose
11-05-2011, 10:09 PM
Blood Red Road - Moira Young (might be more post-apoc though)


Not read, but I think these are in first...

Eve - Anna Carey
XVI - Julia Karr
Bumped - Megan McCafferty

MadSquirrel
11-06-2011, 04:55 AM
I can't think of a YA dystopian that I've read that HASN'T been in 1st.

Yeah, I'm scratching my head trying to think of one. Dystopian seems to be a big first person category.

LeafintheBreeze
11-06-2011, 05:07 AM
I can't think of a YA dystopian that I've read that HASN'T been in 1st.

Yeah, I'm scratching my head trying to think of one. Dystopian seems to be a big first person category.


The only one I can think of is The Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner.

ETA: It's in 3rd past, btw

AlwaysJuly
11-06-2011, 05:10 AM
LEGEND by Marie Lu. Split first person perspective, and SO GOOD.

Amadan
11-06-2011, 05:18 AM
I can't think of a YA dystopian that I've read that HASN'T been in 1st.

Ship Breaker, by Paolo Bacigalupi.

Little Brother and For the Win, by Cory Doctorow.

KateSmash
11-06-2011, 05:07 PM
I can't think of a YA dystopian that I've read that HASN'T been in 1st.

Old, but still awesome: The Giver

YMMV, but most people call the Uglies series dystopian. Same for Unwind and Gone.

Apparently if the world sucks and it's more scifi than fantasy, it'll get called dystopian. :Shrug:
Not read, but Google/GoodReads says so:

Incarceron by Catherine Fischer (and sequel: Sapphique)
Birthmarked by Caragh O'Brien
The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau

So they're out there.

jilllynn5555
11-30-2011, 09:41 PM
So I freaked when I found this post, I love 1st person dystopian books. I will read 3rd person if they get great reviews, but find I prefer 1st person.

Here is my complete list, books in bold are 1st person, books in bold italics I can't find a preview so I can't verify, books in RED bold I have read & rated (1-5) the higher the number the better the book. My scale is pretty tough, the only books that have ever gotten a 5 was Divergent & Hunger Games...enjoy!

DYSTOPIAN BOOKS
Across the Universe (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8235178-across-the-universe)by Beth Revis- 1ST PERSON
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1902241.The_Adoration_of_Jenna_Fox) and The Fox Inheritanc by Mary E. Pearson – 1ST PERSON
America Pacifica (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3278246.America_Pacifica) by Anna North- 3RD PERSON
Among the Hidden (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/227651.Among_the_Hidden) (Shadow Children #1-7 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/40339)) by Margaret –3rd PERSON
Ashes, Ashes (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7671562-ashes-ashes) by Jo Treggiari- 1ST PERSON
Awaken (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8665876-awaken) by Katie Kacvinsky- 1ST PERSON
The Bar Code Tattoo (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/592089.The_Bar_Code_Tattoo) and Bar Code Rebellion by Suzanne Weyn- CAN’T FIND
Behind the Gates (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9548029-behind-the-gates) (Tomorrow Girls #1) by Eva Gray- 1ST PERSON
Birthmarked (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6909544-birthmarked) (Birthmarked #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/51440-birthmarked)) by Caragh M. O’Brien- 3RD PERSON
The Blending Time (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7811491-the-blending-time) (The Blending Time #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/60084-the-blending-time)) by Michael Kinch- 3RD PERSON
Blood Red Road (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9917938-blood-red-road) (Dustlands #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/58212-dustlands)) by Moira Young- 1ST PERSON
Bumped (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8517207-bumped)by Megan McCafferty- 1ST PERSON- READ (4.5)
Burn Bright (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9433912-burn-bright) (Night Creatures #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/53143-night-creatures)) by Marianne de Pierres- CAN’T FIND
Candor (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6065629-candor) by Pam Bachorz- 1ST PERSON- READING (4)
The City of Ember (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/307791.The_City_of_Ember), People of Sparks, Prophet of Yonwood , Diamond of Darkhold by Jeanne DuPrau- 3RD PERSON
The Compound (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2696181-the-compound) by S.A. Bodeen- 1ST PERSON
Dark Life (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7027735-dark-life) and Rip Tide (Dark Life #1-2 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/49908-dark-life)) by Kat Falls- CAN’T FIND
(http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1722717.The_Declaration)Dark Parties (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9471697-dark-parties) by Sara Grant- 1ST PERSON
The Declaration (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1722717.The_Declaration), The Resistance & The Legacy (The Declaration #1-3 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/56177-the-declaration-series)) by Gemma Malley- 3RD PERSON
Delirium (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7686667-delirium)(Delirium #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/52834-delirium)) by Lauren Oliver- 1ST PERSON
Desire (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9905387-desire) (Desire #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/55470-desire)) by Kailin Gow- 1ST PERSON?
Divergent (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8306857-divergent) (Divergent #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/57530-divergent)) by Veronica Roth- READ (5)
Drought (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7655564-drought) by Pam Bachorz- CAN’T FIND
Dry Souls (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10490175-dry-souls) by Denise Getson- CAN’T FIND
Earth Abides by George R. Stewart- 3RD PERSON
Empty (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7883678-empty) by Suzanne Weyn- 3RD PERSON
Enclave (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7137327-enclave) (Razorland #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/53296-razorland)) by Ann Aguirre – 1ST PERSON
Enclave (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7137327-enclave) by Kit Reed – 1ST PERSON
Eve by Anna Carey- 1ST PERSON
Exodus (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/576839.Exodus), Zenith and Aurora (Exodus #1-3 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/55612-exodus)) by Julie Bertagna- 3RD PERSON
Feed (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/169756.Feed) by M.T. Anderson- 1ST PERSON
Flawless Ruins (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10657949-flawless-ruins) by Kieryn Nicolas- CAN’T FIND
The Forest of Hands and Teeth (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3432478-the-forest-of-hands-and-teeth), The Dead-Tossed Waves, The Dark and Hollow Places, and Hare Moon (The Forest of Hands and Teeth #1-4 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/45891-the-forest-of-hands-and-teeth)) by Carrie Ryan- 1ST PERSON- READING (4.5)
Genesis (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6171892-genesis) by Bernard Beckett- CAN’T FIND
Girl in the Arena (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6449916-girl-in-the-arena) by Lise Haines- 1ST PERSON
Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan- 3RD PERSON
The Giver (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3636.The_Giver), Gathering Blue and Messenger by Lois Lowry- 3RD PERSON
Gone (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2536134.Gone), Hunger, Lies, and Plague (Gone #1-4 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/45284-gone)) by Michael Grant- 3RD PERSON
Grace (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6625948-grace) by Elizabeth Scott- 1ST PERSON
The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer- 3RD PERSON
The Host (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1656001.The_Host) by Stephenie Meyer- 3RD PERSON
The House of the Scorpion (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13376.The_House_of_the_Scorpion) by Nancy Farmer- 3RD PERSON
How I Live Now (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/161426.How_I_Live_Now) by Meg Rosoff- 1ST PERSON
The Hunger Games (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2767052.The_Hunger_Games), Catching Fire and Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #1-3 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/45433-the-hunger-games)) by Suzanne Collins- READ (5)
Incarceron (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/332775.Incarceron)and Sapphique (Incarceron #1-2 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/42059-incarceron)) by Catherine Fisher-1ST PERSON
Inside Out (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7059135-inside-out) and Outside In by Maria V. Snyder- 1ST PERSON- READ (#1 = 3.5. #2 = 4)
The Knife of Never Letting Go (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2118745.The_Knife_of_Never_Letting_Go), The Ask and Answer, Monsters of Men, and The New World (Chaos Walking #1-3 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/44939-chaos-walking)) by Patrick Ness- 1ST PERSON
Life As We Knew It (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/213753.Life_As_We_Knew_It), The Dead and Gone and This World We Live In (Last Survivors #1-3 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/41572-last-survivors)) by Susan Beth Pfeffer- 1ST PERSON
Legend by Marie Lu- 1ST PERSON
The Line (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6494966-the-line) (The Line #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/53249-the-line)) by Teri Hall- 3RD PERSON
Little Brother (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/954674.Little_Brother) by Cory Doctorow- 1ST PERSON
Lockdown (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6420846-lockdown) (Escape Fr Furnace 1-3, 4&5 not out yet (http://www.goodreads.com/series/55266-escape-from-furnace)) by Alexander Gordon Smith- 1ST PERSON- READ 1-3 (4)
The Marbury Lens (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7995207-the-marbury-lens) by Andrew Smith- 1ST PERSON
Matched (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7735333-matched) (#1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/52928-matched), #2 Crossed) by Ally Condie- 1ST PERSON- READ #1 (3.5), #2 (3)
The Maze Runner (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6186357-the-maze-runner)and The Scorch Trails (Maze Runner #1-2 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/46663-maze-runner)) by James Dashner- 3RD PERSON
Memento Nora (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9370766-memento-nora) (Memento Nora #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/58378-memento-nora)) by Angie Smibert –1ST PERSON
The Other Side of the Island (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3032314-the-other-side-of-the-island) by Allegra Goodman- 3RD PERSON
Possession (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8337087-possession) (Possession #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/61800-possession)) by Elana Johnson-1ST PERSON
The Unwanteds (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9917879-the-unwanteds) by Lisa McMann- 3RD PERSON
The Reapers are the Angels (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11019529-the-reapers-are-the-angels) by Alden Bell- 3RD PERSON
Restoring Harmony (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6659597-restoring-harmony)by JoŽlle Anthony- 1ST PERSON
The Returners (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6696466-the-returners) by Gemma Malley- 1ST PERSON
Salt (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2969219-salt), Gool and The Limping Man (Salt #1-3 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/45605-the-salt-trilogy)) by Maurice Gee- 3RD PERSON
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi- 1ST PERSON
Ship Breaker (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7095831-ship-breaker) (Ship Breaker #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/47756-ship-breaker)) by Paolo Bacigalupi- 3RD PERSON
Skinned (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2791536.Skinned), Crashed and Wired (Gripping #1-3 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/50685-gripping)) by Robin Wasserman-1ST PERSON
Those That Wake (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8609161-those-that-wake) by Jesse Karp-3RD PERSON
Uglies (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24770.Uglies), Pretties, Specials and Extras by Scott Westerfeld- 3RD PERSON
The Unidentified (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7011735-the-unidentified) by Rae Mariz- 1ST PERSON
Unwind (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/764347.Unwind) (Unwind #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/43330-unwind)) by Neal Shusterman- 3RD PERSON
The Water Wars (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7749505-the-water-wars) by Cameron Stracher- 1ST PERSON
Winter’s End (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6372047-winter-s-end) by Jean-Claude Mourlevat -3RD PERSON
Wither (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8525590-wither) (The Chemical Garden #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/49294-the-chemical-garden)) by Lauren DeStefano- 1st PERSON- READ (3.5)
XVI (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6933141-xvi) (XVI #1 (http://www.goodreads.com/series/58450-xvi)) by Julia Karr- 1ST PERSON

pixydust
12-01-2011, 05:03 AM
WOW, Jillynn!!! Thanks!