How do I find a reputable, and affordable editor?

Christyp

Lizard Lady
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure if this is the correct thread, but the title says it all. I think I'd like to hire a line editor, but I'm a stay at home mother, so they can't require thousands up front. My uncle had hired a woman for $1.50 a page, or something like that, but she decided she no longer wanted to take time away from her own novel.

So, do any of you wonderful people know of a reputable, respectable, fun, and affordable line editor?

IceCreamEmpress

Hapless Virago
Registered
Reaction score
Expect a "you should learn to edit your own work if you want to be a professional writer" discussion (which, as a freelance editor myself, I really believe in--there's plenty of work for me from people who don't want to be professional writers {chefs writing cookbooks, doctors who need help writing for a lay audience, etc.}) here.

Okay, so let's take that discussion as having happened, and you've heard people's perspectives and decided that what you want is a professional edit from a freelance editor.

The thing is that this is somewhere where, pretty much, you get what you pay for. If price is your main selection criterion, and you are thinking of $1.50 a page as an appropriate price, you are unlikely to get someone with skill and experience to work for that.

Perhaps there are services you could barter with someone?

sunandshadow

Impractical Fantasy Animal
Registered
Reaction score
Website
home.comcast.net
I work for that price range; I have no credentials besides a B.A. in English and a lot of experience editing people's stuff in crit groups. I'm better at substantive editing because that's what I love doing, but I can do line editing adequately. But yes, like IceCreamEmpress says it's common for people to barter editing services. The only case in which it makes a lot of sense to hire an editor is if you have money and lack time.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator