Long vs Short Articles and a Few Basic Questions

midazolam

Registered
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new to this, and although I've been scouring many pages of this forum for answers, I still have a few questions. If anyone knows the answers to one, a few, or all of these questions, it would be much appreciated!

1. If I want to pitch a short, 350-word article (ie. humorous essay) to a magazine, do I just include the article in the query, or do I describe the subject briefly and pitch it as I would a feature-length piece?

2. If I want to pitch a longer, non-fiction article (like a feature on running in other countries, or a very specific medical problem), then do I just query with a pitch letter and leave it at that? If they're interested, will they request more information, outline, photos, etc., or does the article have to be completed?

3. I'm unpublished, so I can't include clips, but I would rather start from the top and work my way down. Is it true some of the bigger magazines won't look an unpublished author's work? Or is the pitch more important?

4. Expanding on #3, is it a good strategy to start with the higher-paying magazines, or is it best to start at a lower level so I have some published articles to speak of? I tend to aim big, especially if I'm putting a lot of time into writing something that requires copious research.

5. I have an agent from a very reputable agency for fiction, but I'm not yet published. Should I mention this in a query letter?

I think that's it for now - thank you!!

WildScribe

Slave to the Wordcount
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new to this, and although I've been scouring many pages of this forum for answers, I still have a few questions. If anyone knows the answers to one, a few, or all of these questions, it would be much appreciated!