Is there a style guide for British English?

Becca_H

Where am I again?
Registered
Reaction score
Like Strunk and White or the Chicago Manual of Style, but for the UK? Or is it pretty much the same?

I'm used to writing in American English and suddenly, gasp, I might have to write for a UK audience soon.

I can see a few on Wikipedia, but not sure which one is most dominant.

Terie

Writer is as Writer does
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.teriegarrison.com
Like Strunk and White or the Chicago Manual of Style, but for the UK? Or is it pretty much the same?

I'm used to writing in American English and suddenly, gasp, I might have to write for a UK audience soon.

I can see a few on Wikipedia, but not sure which one is most dominant.

I don't use any online resources for British usage. I have several Oxford reference books, including The Oxford Manual of Style. (When I get home, I'll edit this post with a few more titles.)

To clarify, I'm an USian technical writer living in the UK and writing for both US and UK audiences (and Canadian, Australian, and Middle Eastern, too, for that matter). I also do a little bit of freelance technical editing for both sides of the pond. I have to be fairly adept with both styles, but it's easy to get confused, so I refer to my books a lot. :D

areteus

Registered
Reaction score
A good read is Eats, shoots and leaves by Lynn Truss (the comma is deliberately wrong in the title...) which is a good overview of English grammar and punctuation that is also fun to read because it is not dry and boring like many grammar guides. It covers conventions such as the Oxford comma and when to use them and when not to.