Newbie Here :) Have No Fear

Skreth

Word Warrior
Registered
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I'm Skreth, and I just joined this forum last night. My account just got activated, so I'm pretty pumped about that. :hooray:I guess I should tell you all a little bit about myself.

Like the rest of you guys, I love to read and write (why else would I be here? To make origami?). I enjoy ballroom dancing, skiing, jet-skiing, swimming, and Magic: The Gathering. I am fairly well-versed in French, although I am taking courses right now to improve my skill in it. Around me, there is always an air of mystery, because people just can't figure out where their chocolate went.

My favourite genres to read? Fantasy (especially medieval with magic), sci-fi (primarily utopia/dystopia), paranormal (particularly vampires) and just about anything with dragons. I love the works of Anne McCaffrey and Mercedes Lackey, but there are so many authors whose works I also love that I cannot list them all. As you get to know me, I'm sure they'll worm their ways out of my chocolate-saturated brain.

I write short stories, novels, and poetry, although the latter is something I write purely for enjoyment and relaxation (I do not plan on publishing it). When I write, it is usually medieval fantasy (think Graceling by Kristin Cashore) or urban fantasy (no example I can think of at the top of my head). My short stories tend to be darker than my novels. My novels are aimed at young adult readers. My writing style errs on the side of long sentences (rather than short, choppy sentences). I'm not sure if they are quite as long as Ray Bradbury's, though.

The story so far? I've placed in a couple writing contests and published an article in my local paper. I'm looking for encouragement to keep writing as I head off to university next year. I am also searching for "The One," as I call it. The One novel I'm writing that will make it published first. My current WIP, when I finish it, will hopefully be that One.