Oh hey, I do have an account here!

estyles

Registered
Reaction score
I signed up here last March on the recommendation of some friends from my writing group, but because I am Internet-lazy, I started poking around, realized that gee, this place is big, I'll have to look at it more later, and promptly forgot about it.

I would be a librarian if I had my master's degree (but I call myself one in casual conversation anyway since no one knows what a reference associate does). The writing time I don't lose to seriously meaning to start working on my statement of purpose for grad school goes to knitting and photography. I was a history major in undergrad and despite being a writer and a library paraprofessional, pretty much all I read is either research for stories or nonfiction about my pet eras.

I suppose that you could say I'm a serial novel-starter. I can't write anything below about ten thousand words to save my life, and the stories I start tend to be nonmagical fantasy with the starting point of "what if social movement X actually started in era Y? And there were really alien nonhuman races running around? That would be awesome!" Then I get about sixty pages into the story and realize waaaiiit, decent world-building and interesting characters, sure, but there's no actual plot here so I have to tear it down and figure out what needs fixed.