PDA

View Full Version : "Pre-packaged" novels

Eddyz Aquila
06-19-2010, 04:50 AM
AKA novels that closely resemble their predecessor, only have a slightly different plot and different/same characters.

Why in the world are they so damn popular? Why do people want to read the same thing again only with different characters and a slightly different plotline/place of action? Not only this, but also the super-duper-fantastic-the-Church-is-so-evil novels, spin offs of the Da Vinci Code.

Why?! I understand the idea they are popular and people want to read that, but that's taking it to a whole new level.

I'm clueless. Rant against the world.

DeleyanLee
06-19-2010, 04:55 AM
I've been told since I was little, even before I was a writer, that the average person wants "the same but different." People, in general, want entertainment that isn't a risk--something they're in the mood for, but not the exact same thing that they've experienced before.

And, frankly, I'm one of them. When I'm in the mood, I don't want to risk my time, money or emotional investment on something I'm not sure I'll like. Same but different. The guarantee.

It's frustrating to me the writer, but it's totally true for me the consumer. *shrug*

mulcahy67
06-19-2010, 05:30 AM
well, it's pretty much the same reason, out of the twenty most watched shows on cable, like half of them are law and order/csi/ncis stuff.

as which deleyanlee explained well, they don't want a risk. why watch lost when they can watch something they are familiar with and know they'll probably like?

Aphotic Phoenix
06-19-2010, 06:18 AM
well, it's pretty much the same reason, out of the twenty most watched shows on cable, like half of them are law and order/csi/ncis stuff.