Is there a handgun that could do this?

Slushie

Custom User Title
Registered
Reaction score
-handgun discharged from a distance of 50-ish yards
-entrance wound in victim's bicep (average build)
-no exit wound

Is there a firearm that can do this without making an exit?

I have no experience with close range shooting, so I don't know what would be realistic in this case.

I'm flexible with the set-up: it could be from 80 yards in the thigh, or whatever. The important thing is no exit wound.

Thanks for any help. :)

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
A .22 fired from a handgun would lose a lot of power at 50 or 80 yards. I'm not a ballistics or medical expert, but I would say it's within the range of possibilities that the .22 bullet wouldn't exit if hit squarely at the bicep; it could be stopped by the bone without shattering the bone. In my younger days I shot a lot of squirrels and rabbits and birds with a .22 and often there was no exit wound. A squirrel isn't so much larger than a bicep.

Edited to add: There are bullets, such as hollow points, that are designed to break up when they hit something. The idea is to cause as much blood lose and trauma as possible. Such bullets would be less likely to exit. The make a .22 hollow point.

If you choose to have the victim shot in the thigh you would have even more options. The average thigh muscle is a fairly dense mass of muscle.

Last edited:

Chase

It Takes All of Us to End Racism
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm assuming striking an arm or leg is less than accurate shot, making a hit from a low-velocity handgun round more plausible at such ranges, unless the shooter is a practiced expert.

In that case, a .22 Long Rifle slug will do the minimal job you want. Although not as popular as they once were, there's also the .22 Long and .22 Short, even less powerful smallbore cartridges.