PDA

View Full Version : Bad English Speakers

JonSwift
11-07-2009, 09:03 AM
How do I approach someone who speaks bad English (transplanted peoples of course)? I don't want to come off as racist or ignorant (though as a writer I will do what's necessary). Any tips (or good books with bad English speakers you could recommend) on doing this well?

Juliette Wade
11-07-2009, 09:25 AM
Well, I'd suggest you not think of it as "bad English speakers" so much as "English learners." If you're looking for someone to help you with a character for a book, say so - but make sure you tell them that you have a character who is learning English, and you want to make sure you have a good model so that you can make the character realistic. That might be a nice way to turn it around so it doesn't sound insulting...

blacbird
11-07-2009, 10:55 AM
A passage from my most recently-completed unpublishable novel where I needed to deal with this exact problem (Minor context, it's set in 1969, with a draftee named Chris St. John being confronted his first day of Army basic training with a drill sergeant):