Please welcome me :)

ethan.newbie

New Kid, be harsh!
Registered
Reaction score
Found this awesome forum - glad to register. Looking at some of the posts is sure intimidating, but one has to start somewhere, right?

A bit about me - I think I'm quite unusual compared to many others, and not necessarily in a good way, and that worries me.

As a background: I'm an engineer and an MBA (don't stone me please, I did not create the current crisis, blame it on the guys from the *other* B-school. And there's this joke 'how do you know if someone is an MBA? .. he tells you')

My job involves advising companies, and has nothing even remotely close to creativity or writing elegant English prose, unless you think creating power-point slides is creative. I now live in London and just so you know, I'm not even a native English speaker. I feel a lot stacked against me but I won't let that run me over, not yet.

I've always thought about writing - on and off. I had a blog that was rather popular, and apart from that I've won a competition or two during school, and that was long ago. I've never done full time writing. Recently I thought about it more and more, and finally jumped into the act of typing out a few pages - about 11 pages in 1 day..don't know if that's good or bad - of a crime fiction. I've thought about the plot and settings and I'm reasonably confident I can take it to a logical conclusion (writing, that is, getting it published is an entirely different ballgame I guess)

I'm realistic about my chances here, but it'd be great to participate in this forum, learn a thing or two from you, and figure out how to do a good job of what I'm set to do.

I look forward to hearing from you all, and interacting with you over the coming weeks and months. Let me see where this journey takes me! :)

Mumut

Well begun is half done...
Registered
Reaction score