Bobster Arrives

Bobster

Think loose, write tight!
Registered
Reaction score
Wow! I feel like I'm being born all over again, popping in from cyberspace to a brave new world (pun intended, I reckon).

I've lived in Tennessee since 1980 (save for five years in cold, cold Dayton, Ohio, beginning in 2001), and most of my writing experience has been with songs (www.soundclick.com/bobbyjoedemos). No big hits to speak of, but I've had a Jim & Jesse (bluegrass) cut and about 10 indie artist recordings. However, I'm here to pursue fiction writing interests.

I majored in English at Rutgers University (B.A. 1974) and have always loved reading and writing fiction. Over the years I pursued songwriting as a part-time activity and never got around to writing much fiction other than several short stories and one what I call "meta novel" (60,000 words of talking to myself about what I wanted to write about--ha!). I did have one short story published in a men's magazine (circa 1995 and under a pseudonym the publisher provided), for which I received $100. Oh, and I almost forgot, I did write an unpublished children's book entitled "Boogie-Woogie Bear" about, you guessed it, a dancing bear. Can we get some music!

I'm now exploring the world of fiction writing--both short and long--and I'm trying to keep an open mind to all genres. I love Elmore Leonard's and Walter Mosley's books, but I recently read a Denise Swanson cozy and have begun reading the romantic and mini-mystery fiction in my wife's "Woman's World" magazines. I've also read quite a few books on writing, and I'm rereading two of my favorites, "Techniques of the Selling Writer" by Dwight V. Swain and (forgive me if I butcher the title) "Scene and Structure" by a fellow named Bickham as I recall.

I'm happy to be here and hope to grow and learn as much I can in the fun, fun world of fiction.

-Bobster (or you can call me Bob) :)

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome to AW.