YA Science Fiction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Evlsushi

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a relatively new writer and I'm trying to get my YA science fiction novel off the ground but I can't help but notice the extreme lack of YA SF in the market right now. I was standing in the bookstore just the other day when I noticed that there seem to be three major types of fiction within the YA market: "Gossip Girl", Urban Fantasy (dark faeries and such), and Vampire types. I suppose that vampires really fall under Urban Fantasy, but there's just so many of them that it should be its own category.

Anyway, most of the market seems to be swaying toward these genres and away from classic sci-fi. Should I just aim for the "normal" sci-fi market or keep at a seemingly niche genre in YA. And, now that I'm in rant mode, why aren't people reading YA sci-fi anymore? What happened? General lack of interest? I can't believe that there just aren't any YA sci-fi writers out there, but I don't feel there's anyone else out there.

dawinsor

Dorothy A. Winsor
VPXI
Registered
Reaction score
I think you're right that YA SF is thin on the ground. The best recent thing I've seen is Cory Doctorow's "Little Brother."

Esopha

bam pow zap.
Registered
Reaction score
M.T. Anderson. Scott Westerfield. Garth Nix.

Nancy Farmer? House of the Scorpion? It was a pretty talked-about book last year.

YA SF isn't gone. It's just harder to find. Cyberpunk/steampunk is more common. Write your book as a YA SF if you want it to be. I hear agents say editors want more SF and fewer fairies nowadays in any case.

Evlsushi

Registered
Reaction score