Using Foreign langages in a fantasy world.

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlueLucario

Blood Elves FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not good at this. I'm creating a couple of characters who are security guards and they speak German. They don't speak english at all. So I was wondering if it's possible to use foreign languages in a fantasy world. The real world doesn't really exist. It's like someone speaking french in the city of Cheesburger which is located in the continent of Fries. Not France in the continent of Europe. Is it easy to pull off? Is it realistic?

Thank you for your time.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
How much dialogue do these two characters have? And are they just speaking to each other, or to someone else who doesn't speak German? If it's to another character, then that character is going to have to somehow understand their meaning as well, either with gestures, or understanding a few words of German, or something like that.

There are several ways to handle very small amounts of dialogue in a foreign language. It's going to be a bigger problem if there is page after page of it. Remember, it's your story; you could have the characters at least speak a form of pidgin English if for some reason it was important that they not be able to speak English well.

Whatever you do, don't throw in a lot of important dialgoue in German that the typical reader won't be able to understand. Few things are more annoying than a book with a lot of foreign language and no way to understand it except by having to go and get it translated in some way.

Last edited:

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com